top of page
  • Writer's pictureThat Dark Rogue

Spoiler Review of The Wheel of Time on Amazon Prime

Well...I apologize this is later than expected. I meant to do a spoiler review of The Wheel of Time episodes 1-3, but work and Holiday makes it now a spoiler from episode 1-4. Lets call it bonus content. First of all let's say I really like episode 1-3, but episode 4 blew me away. There were a few moments as a fan of the books my eyes may have watered up a bit. Let's get into this SPOILER review. Spoiler just in case you missed it again.

My biggest concern was the magic going into this show. It’s a central point of this story unlike other fantasy shows out there. It is big, fantastical, and super important. The show does it well. They have to weave magic into spells and while I never pictured them moving so much it really helps with the visual for TV sake. The only issue is that I think non-readers seem confused in exactly how the spells work and who can do what. I‘m assuming though this will get worked out once we get to the White Tower.


The Trollocs and Fades look great. Sometimes the CGI falters a bit when a lot of Trollocs are on screen, but it doesn't bother me. I’m pleasantly surprised we do not have CGI wolves as well. Now Ba'alzamon does not look good. I mean they are dream sequences so it's more of a nitpick, but if that character was there in the real world it would not fit in at all. Hopefully he goes away after season 1 or fixed in season 2. When they have the beautiful overview shots and use CGI to add things in, it looks amazing. It feels like our world, but more. I’ve already seen non-readers guess we are in the future.


The scenery and feel of the world just is right to me. The costumes, the dress, and places just feels right. The language feels more modern, but I know Rafe promised more in world language in the future. The old tongue sounds beautiful. The music sounds great. I need more Thom singing in world lore. Give me more!!!. I love that when they tell us lore in conversations it doesn't feel forced. The writing on the show seems to flow better with each episode.


When it comes to the characters, let's start with my favorite, Moiraine. Anytime Rosamund Pike is on screen everything just feels perfect; she is Moiraine. When she speaks you better damn well listen. We already know she is an amazing actress so to be head of this ship is a big reason this is working so well. We have a master. With that said my second favorite character is Nynave and Zoë Robins actually makes me love her more. She is balancing Nynaeves fierceness, but also letting us see a softness behind that. She is not to be messed with, but I’m connecting with Zoë on screen. When I look at her expressions, I can feel her emotions pierce me. I can feel the chemistry between Daniel Henney and her. Their relationship was more off screen in the books but I love how we get to see it happen now.


Egwene, Rand, Mat, Lan. and Perrin all feel right too. Even though they have aged them up, it was done very well in a way I know who they are. I believe this is where they would be at this point in life. Madeleine Madden, Josha Stradowski, Daniel Henney, Marcus Rutherford, and Barney Harris all are doing a fantastic job. It will be sad to see Barney go, but if he was, this is a good time since he will be losing his mind thanks to the dagger. Even the minor characters I have loved. I cannot say a bad thing about a performance thus far. I even like Thom more than in the books, he’s just cooler. I also believe he can kick ass if need be.


For the most part I try not to get too bogged down in comparing things to the book. I’m looking more for the heart of the story to be displayed. Thus far I like the changes they are making more as we go. Early on I was skeptical of some changes like with Perrin, no Thom early on, and sometimes things felt too rushed. Overall, I’m starting to see the bigger picture. I’m almost 100% certain Laila was a darkfriend. If she is then I will really love that marriage being added. I was also not a fan of Abel Cauthon getting turned into a crap human being. I just hope after the attack he gets his shit together now. I know he isn't a major character, but he and Tam are quite a team in the Two Rivers. I also do not mind changes with Logain’s arc because it makes him more interesting, adds info about male channelers to the audience, and lets everyone learn more about Aes Sedai along with their warders. Who wouldn't want to see Logain and Moirane meet? I enjoyed his character in the books, but we never got enough of him.


I do wish we got more of the main group together for at least one more episode before they got separated. It is just one of those time constraint things. TV just doesn't work like a book. Though watching this series comes to life makes me appreciate more how tough an adaptation can be. I know some are just money grabbers, but I can see how hard Rafe and squad are working on this. It will be a hard world and lore to build while keeping viewer attentions. There is so much to dig into and learn.


My original rating after the first 3 episodes was 8/10, but after episode 4 we are getting close to a 9. I cannot get enough of this show. The hardest part will be having to wait until season 2. I know Amazon is working to make season breaks shorter, but that went to hell with COVID. I’m finding some great youtubers who are just enjoying the show and I enjoy reliving it through them. As we go along I'm glad this is not exactly like the books because now I can even be surprised by some of the changes. I'm just having fun.


Recent Posts

See All

Wonder Woman 1984 Spoiler Review

Wonder Woman 1984 was something else. I would only recommend this movie to kids or adults who can just shut their brain down. Here’s the issue that seems to be at the center of the mess is that they c

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page