top of page
  • Writer's pictureThat Dark Friend

The Lightbringer

Wow with my kids starting school and work ramping up I didn't realize how long since I wrote something. This post will be devoted to the Lightbringer series by Brent Weeks. I will post a basic review then my input with spoilers after.


The first thing I want to say about this series is that it rockets near the top of my favorite fantasy series ever. What number in that line...eh...I don't know right now. What I want to gush about right away though is the MAGIC system, Chromaturgy. IT IS BEAUTIFUL, not just because its based on the color spectrum, but because of the mechanics. The more you learn about it the more interesting it became. The magic users are called drafters. Some people in this world can access magic based on the color spectrum. It isn't always cut and dry as people fall somewhere on the spectrum, it can fluctuate to more than one color. The more colors you can access the more powerful you are. Based on the colors you use it can also influence your emotions in different ways. The easy one is RED which is of course based on fire and anger. The best part about this system is the magic isn't endless.



The disadvantage is that you need your colors lit up in order to draft them, but you also cannot use it forever. Eventually you use too much in your life and it effects your eye color. When the color breaks the "halo" of your eye then you can start to become dangerous and irrational. When your halo breaks or is about to break there is a religious ceremony to end your life. If you do not offer yourself up then you become hunted for death. Weeks system is damn brilliant in its execution and rules.


Then there are the characters. Weeks has many complex characters in this series. I'm hard pressed to pick a favorite one. I will say many of them are in contention for some of my favorite character in any series. There is nothing black and white about them either. Some bleed more on the dark side and light side respectively, but hard decisions are made across the board. No mortal does anything because they want to be the evil in this world (Well maybe 1..). Everyone has baggage and motivations that make sense.


The world building itself is top notch. I mean the tidbits that leak out as the series goes on and the mysteries that are slowly opened up is phenomenal. There are still some parts of the world unexplored, but I mean by book 5 you have a detailed history, lore, and understanding of how the world is made up. It is of course fascinating and well thought out.


What Weeks does well is give hints throughout each book about what could be going on, but it really just is to push you on to learn more. Then the reveals come and you go OOOOHHHH that makes sense! Weeks is a master of giving you just enough to work your brain, but the reveals gets sprinkled throughout the series.


The writing of course is fantastic. You cannot do the above without mastery of the written word. I also listened to the audible books; the narrator is top notch in my opinion. There really isn't anything I can think of that is a weakness for Weeks. I mean I can see everything going on in my minds eye. The way he writes what's going through character's heads is well done. I feel like I am with them and see the world as they would.


The first two books in the series are great, but it is books 3-5 that really make it worth your wild. Book 3 is when things really start to come out. Secrets exposed. Life changes for characters. Big changes for the world and stratagem becomes key for different sides. I do not rate things, but I would say this is a must read series for any fantasy fan, hands down.





~SPOILERS~ BEYOND THIS POINT. YOU ARE WARNED.






This series was a rollercoaster. Book 1 being titled The Black Prism really threw me off. That title never had much meaning in the first book, but I kept feeling an itch the ramifications of it were huge. The funny thing is I thought it meant Dazen Guile the whole time, I just had the wrong person...well I guess technically right person pegged? That whole reveal and what really happened come to light was wild. Here I thought Gavin Guile was destined to be the evil prism and main antagonist for the series! Of course not though. Brent Weeks was like, pffft this isn't a normal series.


Then of course the best of all the people at heart was some poor fat kid; Kip. I couldn't stand Kip in book 1, but his growth was amazing. Definitely a beloved character now. Tia and Tisis growth was also amazing. Of course Dazen's path through the series was epic and crazy. It was sooo well done though. Karris and Cruxer (RIP) will also hold a special place with me. Karris was my first character I loved in the series as "Gavin" felt too off.


Then you have the big awkward Kip marry one of the most beautiful women in the book as well. The thing is their relationship and how they played off one another worked so well. I mean Kip did became a man among boys in the end, but even before that they seemed to click once away from the Chromeria. Their marriage was pushed on them, but they made it work for the greater good then fell in love. Their issues with sex in the beginning was kind of awkward, but I rolled with it.


Then after all his work of course Andross gets much of the glory. History in real life isn't always what actually happened so it makes sense that theirs would be written neatly behind closed doors as well. I really expected Andross, Dazen, and Tia to all die. Then Kip barely make it and have to keep it all together with Tisis, Karris, Ironfist, and some of his friends. Being most survived was also a big shock. The body count at the end was extremely low for the characters we actually knew. The fall of the White King was kind of anti-climatic as well. My only criticism of the series is the ending felt like it was missing something. I expected something a bit more epic. I also expected more from the immortals as well. The battle itself was still intense. I would have to say my most hated character dying so cheaply was great. Fuck Zymun.


I actually expected Dazen to also end magic in their world. That there was no God after Weeks got me to somewhat believe there really was. I was like wow that would be insane, but it would effectively destroy the White King and his army. Though I am glad that is not what happened because there was too much evidence to the contrary that other forces were at work.


I also have to say that the slavery and how drafters are owned in a way worked in this world. In some stories the slavery angle seems to be there just to piss the reader off, but this one worked within the history and class system of this world. The slavery was not always in your face and of course much of the ones we see are treated well. Tia's anxiety was heartbreaking to read as she was owned at the beginning with threats to be sold as a sex slave. That was disturbing. The class system in this book was always uncomfortable, hopefully the new Lightbringer ends that mess to really cement his title. Andross seemed like he was going to turn over a new leaf thanks to Kip's sacrifice of not fighting for the title. Though I am still unhappy he let the Old man of the Desert go free.


Overall there is a lot our main characters can still do in this world. Many more adventures and obstacles that could come in their path in the future. I wonder if this is really it for all of them or if Weeks just wants us to let them live on in our head? Either way. Love this series.



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page